The Immaculate Heart of Mary

Today we celebrate the Feast Day of The Immaculate Heart of Mary.

Here’s what you need to know...

The Immaculate Heart of Mary is a devotional name used to refer to the interior life of the Blessed Virgin Mary—her joys and sorrows, her virtues and hidden perfections, and, above all, her virginal love for God the Father, her maternal love for her son Jesus, and her compassionate love for all people.

While there were saints like St. Anselm of Canterbury, St. Bernard of Clairvaux, St. Gertrude the Great and St. Bridget of Sweden who showed a special devotion to the Heart of Mary earlier, it wasn't until Saint John Eudes’ efforts in 1648 to make it public, and to have a feast celebrated in honor of the Heart of Mary that it became popular.

Despite Eudes’ efforts it wasn’t until 1805 that Pope Pius VII officially allowed a feast to honor the Immaculate Heart of Mary.

Traditionally, the heart is depicted pierced with seven wounds or swords. Also, roses or another type of flower may be wrapped around the heart.

Happy Feast Day.

Our Lady of Fatima, show us how to better love your son.

Our Lady of Fatima, ora pro nobis.